Royally running 10km

Windsor Women’s 10km. My first 10km. Our first 10km. The 2018 Waverley Harriers Couch to 5kers, not only managed to run 5km this year, but then they went on to do the Harriers’ 5km to 10km weekly runs. This was their first 10km and I thought i’d tag along and give it a go.

I’d trained hard over the summer, running 4 times a week, thanks to Runbet. With Runbet, you bet on yourself to complete a certain bet (there are loads to choose from). If you complete your bet, you win your money back. If you lose, you lose your money and the “winners” all get a share of that pot of money. I found it a real motivator, even during the scorching sunny days of this bonkers summer, I found myself running around the village, determined not to lose my cash. It’s not a gamble, if you have control of the outcome.

Runbet meant I had a strong 5km by the end of the summer. I even managed a parkrun pb that began with a 3, instead of a 4! Then I travelled to Canada (more on that in another blog) and i’d run out of training time. The 10km was upon me.

The day of the Windsor Women’s 10km was upon us. The lovely Helen was my designated driver. It was a chilly, but sunny morning. When we got to Windsor we were transfixed by the castle and ended up driving towards it and having an incredible view of the castle! Having found the right road to go along, we arrived at the start line in good time to use their facilities and take part in the warm up. The warm up was energetic and fun and everyone around us felt upbeat and positive. By the time we were called to our start positions I was feeling warmed up and relaxed.

Jo Pavey started our run off. Although I could hear her, I couldn’t see her from where I was. There was a short delay for the start – but that was the only blip in an otherwise well organised day.

The first couple of kms were along the Long Walk and up a small hill. I’m not used to running with so many people around me (i’m usually at the back, with lots of space), so I really struggled to find my pace. I was looking forward to the hill, but took it too fast, felt sick and began to wonder if I could do this at all. But between 2-3km I began to find my pace and start to enjoy the scenery.

Just before the water stop at 3kms, we passed by the bright pink Royal Lodge. Home to the York family. To my absolute delight, The Duke of York, Prince Andrew, drove out of his gates, as some soldiers slowed us down. As I ran towards him, he gave us a wave and I wave madly back. That meant that 3km to 4km I was feeling amazing. Everything felt good, the sun was shining and i’d just got a wave from the Duke of Blooming York!

At around 5km I was feeling good. There was an incredible statue of Queen Elizabeth on a horse, looking down to Windsor Castle. All of us were admiring the view. The sunny day made it all the more beautiful. I knew I just wanted to run to 5km and then see what happened after that. The water stop appeared and I slowed to take in some water, use their loo and admire the scenery.

I took some time tow walk through Windsor village and I even considered buying an ice cream from the post office, but thought that might be a tad too relaxed. There were some wonderful up and down sections around here and I really enjoyed running down hill and chatting to people around me as we all enjoyed ourselves.

I was expecting to see the 6km marker at this point, but turns out it was the 7km marker. I felt like the km markings were passing by quickly. I decided to take it easy with a little walk/run effort, because I knew after 8km we’d be hitting the Long walk to the finish line and I really wanted to run those last 2 kms.

Between 7 and 8km, I was having fun with the marshalls. All were young cadets and girl guides enthusiastically cheering us on, giving us high fives and telling us we were “nearly there” . It raised a laugh when I ran by telling them they had “an easy job” and seemed to make them cheer us on even more loudly. They were even kind enough to lie about how many hills we had left, which was fun.

At 8km, the marshalls told me it was now downhill all the way and as I turned the corner, I found myself staring down the long walk and through to Windsor Castle. In between me and the castle was the finish line and half of the run was downhill, so off I ran.

2km downhill towards the finish. Well about half a km was downhill, the last 1.5km was flat and it felt like the finish line was not getting any closer. The path was lined with more and more people, but the finish never seemed any nearer. I was just wondering if it’d be quicker to walk when, suddenly, I was next to the finish and crossing the line and I felt fantastic!

What a run! The scenery was beautiful, the weather was perfect running weather and the race was superbly organised. Our fellow female runners were supportive, in good spirits and kept me entertained all around.

I met up with the other new 10kers at the finish, with our t-shirts and medals and everyone seemed to have just as much a good time as I did. I think we’re all agreed we’d like to tackle that one again. I’m already seeking out new Windsor runs. But with a run time of 1 hour 28 minutes, i’m back out there training to improve on that 10km time for the next 10km run, i’d like to do in November. Long may 10km runs feel as good as this!

Well done to everyone that ran their first 10km at the Windsor Women’s 10km. What a day!

I learned that you don’t have to be nervous on a race day. It’s ok to turn up relaxed, not knowing what will happen and just to enjoy it.  I ran more kms than I thought I could, actually enjoyed running and i’m now inspired and motivated to knuckle down and try for another 10km. I’ve also learned that the more I run, the easier it becomes and the more I discover about myself. I’m amazed at what I can do and i’m excited to see what more I can do over the coming weeks and months, as we head into the winter…

 

 

Leave a comment